Charley Toomey

The 2018 season will be the 13th as head coach at Loyola for Charley Toomey.

The Greyhounds ascended to the top of college lacrosse in 2012, winning Loyola's first-ever NCAA Division I Championship.

Toomey enters the 2018 season with a 121-60 career record in his first 12 years at Loyola. Early in the 2016 season, Toomey became the second coach in program history to reach and cross the 100-win plateau. He stands second on the program’s all-time wins chart behind his college coach, Dave Cottle (181-70, 1983-2001).

Under his direction, the Greyhounds won at least a share of three of the last six ECAC Championships when the Greyhounds were in that conference, and Loyola has won three of the four Patriot League titles since joining that conference in 2014.

Loyola spent time as the No. 1 team in all national polls during the 2012, 2013 and 2014 season, a feat never before accomplished on the Evergreen campus.

Toomey was also a member of the NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee, a group responsible for selection of the NCAA Championships field and administration of the tournament. He also has served as part of the U.S. Men’s National Team selection group as a coach and evaluator of the goalies during the intial tryout process.

Toomey's dedication to the program stems from his long ties to the Loyola community, dating back to the day he stepped onto campus as a freshman student-athlete in 1986.

He has been involved in 16 of the 2 NCAA D-I Tournament appearances in program history - three as a player, five as an assistant coach and eight as a head coach.

The 2018 season will be Toomey's 22nd year as a coach for the Greyhounds and his 18th overall in the coaching profession. Including his four years as a standout goalkeeper for the Greyhounds from 1987-1990, 2018 will be his 26th year on the Loyola campus.

While his ties to the past of Loyola men's lacrosse run deep, Toomey's vision and commitment to the future of the Greyhounds is even stronger.

With Toomey at the helm, Loyola reached the NCAA Tournament for the eighth time in his 12 years as a head coach in 2017 and the fifth time in six years. The Greyhounds captured the Patriot League Championship for the third time in four years since joining the conference, winning both the regular-season and tournament crowns.