Jon Birsner

1.59 Thousand
Jon Birsner was named the new head coach for VMI lacrosse on June 22, 2015. The 2019 season will be his fourth at the helm of the program.

He is the sixth head coach of the VMI lacrosse program, which was reinstituted to the NCAA ranks in 1983.

Over the past three years, Birsner has led the Keydets to six wins including three consecutive victories over Hampton University and the New Jersey Institute of Technology.

In 2018, junior defender Kyle Walsh and sophomore faceoff specialist AJ Krstulovic were named All-Conference. Walsh finished second in the nation in caused turnovers per game en route to First Team All-SoCon honors while Krstulovic ranked 13th in the country in faceoff winning percentage (.596) to garner Second Team All-SoCon recognition. Several other Keydets earned academic recognition during the year for their accomplishments in the classroom. Recently graduated Wesley Sanders, a two-time All-SoCon First Team honoree, became just the 17th Keydet in program history to join the 100-Point Club at VMI as he finished with 102 for his career. Sanders also joined the 70-Goal Club at VMI in his final game, one of just 13 Keydets in program history to achieve the feat.

Birsner, a native of Levittown, New York, spent the 2014-15 seasons as an assistant coach at Southern Conference opponent Furman. In addition to serving as Furman's offensive coordinator, Birsner also served as the program's recruiting, travel, film, compliance and academic coordinator.

Under the direction of head coach Richie Meade, Birsner helped the Paladins to a 4-9 record in 2015, its second year of existence following a 1-12 inaugural campaign in 2014.

Prior to arriving at Furman, Birsner spent 2009-2013 as a coach at the Naval Academy Prep School in Newport, Rhode Island. He spent the last three seasons as head coach, where he compiled a 31-9 overall record, including a program-best 15-3 record and Post Graduate School championship in 2013. Coach Birsner coached, developed and mentored nine Division 1 All-Conference players, one All-American and one Patriot League Rookie of the Year.