Sharon Pfluger

Pfluger ranks among the elite at any NCAA level as the veteran coach has compiled an impressive 514-58-1 record in 32 seasons.

Under her guidance, TCNJ has earned 11 NCAA Division III Championships, six NCAA Runner-Up titles, and seven third-place finishes. Her teams have qualified for the NCAA Tournament in each of her 32 seasons and also captured the inaugural New Jersey Athletic Conference Championship when it was introduced as a conference sport in 2009.

Pfluger has coached 151 All-Americans and has had 18 players recognized as a Division III National ‘Field’ Player of the Year in the last 28 years.

In November of 2007, the US Lacrosse Board of Directors acknowledged her outstanding contributions to the game of lacrosse with her selection for the 50th class of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

Pfluger was named the 1987 Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches’ Association image 2 (IWLCA) Division III Coach of the Year and again earned that honor in 2004. She has also been selected as a regional coach of the year in 1989, 1995, 1996, 2001, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018.

The Lions put together one of the most impressive streaks in college sports from April 14, 1991 until May 18, 1997 when Pfluger directed the program to 102 straight victories.

Over the course of her career, there have been many additional honors in the areas of athletics and service for Pfluger. During the 1991 NCAA Division I and III Women’s Lacrosse Championships, she was the recipient of the NCAA 10th Anniversary Outstanding Service Award for her accomplishments in women’s lacrosse. Since 1989, Pfluger has served on the NCAA Regional Advisory Committee and assisted in coaching the U.S. Women’s Lacrosse Squad from 1987 to 1989. She received the Outstanding Achievement Award from the March of Dimes in 1990, while the Philadelphia Sportswriters Association cited her with the Outstanding Achievement Award in both 1991 and 1992. On November 15, 1992, Pfluger became the first woman honored by the Trenton Select Committee. In 1995, she was honored with the Bea Marwick Award for outstanding support and service to the sport of women’s lacrosse. In the summer of 1997, Pfluger joined four other women in the New Jersey Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame’s charter class. In the